History of J.D.O.S

(As narrated by Professor Emeritus Dr. R. K. Mishra at his clinic to Dr. Ravin N. Das on May 28, 2004, additional inputs from Dr. S. C. Batalia and Dr. G. D. Hoonka)

The early days…

The Divisional Societies of Bhopal, Gwalior, Indore, Raipur and Rewa were the single handed result of our very own Dear Professor Emeritus Dr. R. K. Mishra’s efforts in fraternization with Dr. Santok Singh (Bhopal), Dr. M. C. Agarwal (Gwalior), Dr. M. L. Nahata (Indore), Dr. I. M. Shukla (Raipur) and Dr. Shrivastava (Rewa).

Dr. R. K. Mishra, at an A.I.O.S conference, was surprised to note that little or no representation could be seen at the National level from our State of Madhya Pradesh (It was then the undivided State of Madhya Pradesh, Chhatisgarh was not formed yet). It was from this observation that he learnt that it was absolutely necessary to form these Divisional Societies.

Taking this into consideration, along with the other four Divisional Societies was born the Jabalpur Divisional Ophthalmologial Society. That was the year 1969. Dr. R. K. Mishra, Dr. S. C. Batalia and Dr. G. D. Hoonka were the three members who formed the Jabalpur Divisional Ophthalmic Society in the year 1969.

The first meeting of the MP State Ophthalmic Society was held at Dr. S. C. Batalia’s residence along with a representative from Bhopal.

Dr. S. C. Batalia was the first General Secretary, followed by Dr. P. Bhura and Dr. G. D. Hoonka.

The founder members –

  1. Professor Dr. R. K. Mishra (President)
  2. Dr. S. C. Batalia (General Secretary)
  3. Dr. G. D. Hoonka (member)
  4. Late Dr. Hafiz Ahmed (member)
Professor Dr. R. K. MishraDr. S. C. BataliaDr. G. D. HoonkaLate Dr. Hafeez Ahmed

Soon after the formation of the five Divisional Societies, the M. P. State Ophthalmological Society was formed. Your society today is more than 50 years old.

The first MPSOS conference in Jabalpur was held in the year 1971 (72 according to other sources).

Over the years…

Over the years the MPSOS and its Divisional Societies have progressed in strength and number, and a lot of quality material has been produced and displayed at the State, National and International level by the members of these societies.

Your Society has also held State Level Conferences (by rotation with other Divisional Ophthalmological Societies), Case presentations on a regular basis, Symposia, Guest Lectures, Workshops, Didactic Lectures, and CME’s. On the extracurricular front, the members have also had their share of picnics.

Your Society holds monthly meetings as a rule, with very few exceptions.

Professor Dr. R. K. Mishra was awarded “Emeritus” status in the year 1995 and a felicitation family get together cum dinner was arranged on October 2, 1995 in his honour.

2000 onwards…

In the year 2001 (May) didactic lectures were started under the dynamic secretary Late Dr. Himadri S. Ray and it was decided that alternate meetings would be dedicated to such lectures and case discussions. The first two didactic lectures were “Central Serous Retinopathy” by Dr Atul Mishra and “Migraine – An Overview” by Dr. Ravin N. Das. Many of the other lectures following this lecture have been archived and can be found in the CME-archives section.

In the year 2004 (May) under the secretary Dr. Ravin N. Das, this web site was launched on a free host (Tripod). It was the first Ophthalmic Society to have it’s own dedicated website in Madhya Pradesh and just a handful of Ophthalmic Society websites in India.

In November 2004 the site moved to its present location with our own domain name and server, https://www.jdosmp.org.

Also in the year (2004) the first Constitutional Revision was done. The name of the society was changed to Jabalpur Divisional Ophthalmic Society (earlier Ophthalmological).

In May 2015 the content was upgraded to CMS (content management system) to keep the contents up to date with changes in HTML and to keep the website accessible with mobile devices, tablets, etc.

Inauguration of the office in the new IMA Building…

The Society continues to hold its administrative office in the IMA Building. The IMA Building itself was rebuilt and new offices allocated to various societies. The office in the new IMA Building was inaugurated by Dr. S. C. Batalia (Founder General Secretary), Dr. Atul Mishra (Past President), Prof. Dr. Parvez Siddiqui (President), Dr. Atul Sharma (Past President) and Dr. Brajesh Choudhary on the 3rd of January 2021, 4:15 PM.

Annual C.M.E in memory of Late Prof. Dr. R. K. Mishra

In the year 2021 it was decided to hold an annual CME in remembrance of our founder President Late Prof. Dr. R. K. Mishra. A one-day CME would be held each year around his birthday (5-Jun). An award honoring him to be given to the best presentation/video consisting of a rolling trophy, medal and citation in the form of a certificate. The first such event was organised virtually in 2021.